PURTY 30

I welcomed turning 30 this weekend with warmth and joy.

Of course, I also welcomed the special occasion with good food, good wine, and amazing friends (plus a new lady that I’m smitten with).

Birthday dinner was celebrated at one of my favorite spots, Stella’s.  Their Greek fare is rich and spot-on, plates are generously “large and in charge” plus, their service is swift and friendly. Thank goodness I planned ahead, making sure to sport a loose fitting dress (knowing I’d be rockin’ a healthy food baby after) because the smorgasbord of delightful food was nonstop.

We started with Spanakopita ($9), sautéed calamari ($11), and grilled pita stuffed with cheese (that was on special).  We passed around the plates, spooning heaps onto our smaller plates, falling in love with the flavors and great conversation. To me, this is what celebration is about.  No need for Evites, tacky streamers, or expectations – give me food and friends and I’m in heaven.

Last time I went to Stella’s, their Artichoke Moussaka ($14) blew my damn mind so, being the creature of habit I am, I ordered it again.  The combination of the earthy fennel, hearty potato, sautéed onion and creamy nutmeg-infused bechamel sauce is reminiscent of warm Christmas flavors. A Greek-y kind of Christmas. I had a bite of my friend’s halibut paired with creamed potatoes and beets. Absolutely phenomenal.

Dinner ended with one amazing dessert – caramel sea salt gelato with Hazelnut Baklava. Oh mah goodness, I don’t even know what to say about this other than “just try it”.

No, no, no, I’ll attempt a short description … it’s the salty gelato paired the savory crunchy Baklava blows the mind. That’s about it. Try it.

After dinner, we headed to the Broadberry to jam out to the fabulous Shack Band.  Besides head bobbing and hip swayin’ to the music, I had Fireball for my first time, got a sip or two of Hardywood’s Gingerbread Stout (yes, ALREADY), and enjoyed every moment.

So I’m now officially in my 30’s.  I feel great and I can’t wait to see what this fabulous decade has in store for me.

3 thoughts on “PURTY 30

Leave a Reply

