CHEERS TO FALL BEERS

If you haven’t noticed, Fall has made itself known (and feels like on its way to Winter).

I can’t get enough of Fall weather, being my 2nd actual “Fall” in Richmond, I still “oooh” and “aaahhhh” at the colored foliage.

Autumn aromas of warm cinnamon, pumpkin, and pecan are becoming beloved flavors that are gracing fall menus everywhere. There’s pumpkin this and butternut squash that, and I love it.  Where better to infuse these flavors than into beer?

I’ve really been a sucker for Fall brews.  So much that I quickly search the drink menu at every restaurant and scour my local grocery store weekly for Autumn inspired beers.

I’ve found a few that are worth a mention…

Shipyard Pumpkin Ale (Portland, ME)

I discovered this one at Galaxy Diner (they have pumpkin milkshakes, too).  This was on the lighter side of all the other pumpkin brews I’ve had.  It has slight and sweet pumpkin flavors, not much spice with a smooth and mellow finish.

Sam Adams Harvest Pumpkin Ale (Boston, MA)

This rich copper-colored ale has bold spicy notes of cinnamon, nutmeg, and clove.  Not an overpowering pumpkin flavor, spice reigns in this beer.

Abita Pecan Harvest Ale (Abita Springs, LA)

Although it’s not pumpkin, this Louisiana brew deserves a mention.  I found this 8 pack at World Market (love the place).  This mild light-colored ale has an overall nutty notes.  Yes, that sounds hilarious.

Weyerbacher Imperial Pumpkin Ale (Easton, PA)

I found this 4 pack at World Market for $10.99 (still cheaper than ordering at a restaurant).  This ale had the strongest pumpkin flavors so far, a nice aftertaste but a tiny bitter. Almost like a pumpkin pie in a bottle.

Cheers!

One thought on “CHEERS TO FALL BEERS

Leave a Reply

