CRACKER BARREL

Maybe it’s the perfectly lined rocking chairs sitting outside that I’ve NEVER seen someone buy.  Or maybe it’s the knick knack infested “country store” I roam around aimlessly after stuffing my face.  Whatever it is, Cracker Barrel has some kind of weird nostalgic appeal to me.

What has dragged my hungry ass to Cracker Barrel 3 times in the past 8 days?  Pancakes.  Seriously.

Sometimes I go through these food-cations.  Where my taste buds somehow fixate on one dish or food item for some lengthy period of time.  This has happened before.  Once it was Blue Bell’s Pumpkin Pie Ice Cream, another time, it happened to boiled crawfish.  Right now, it’s the buttermilk pancakes at Cracker Barrel.  They are pretty unbelievable and put my own to shame.

For around $8.00, you can get yourself three hot buttery pancakes with your choice of syrup (in the most admirable tiny bottle) or fruit topping.   My girlfriend always get’s the maple syrup while I stick to the fruit kind.  I’ve had peach two times until I recently transitioned into blackberry on my last trip to the Barrel.  I’m serious about my love for the fruit topping on my Cracker Barrel pancakes.

They’re crispy on the outside, warm inside, and the flavor is incomparable to all other pancakes I’ve had.  Is it the buttermilk, the country ambience, or the crack?  I kid I kid!  Whatever it is or however they make them, they’re doing it right.

I dug a little deep and found the recipe for these pancackes…which I will be attempting to duplicate this weekend.  The recipe actually comes from … gasp… the bona-fide Cracker Barrel cookbook.  I assume you can also find this in their gift shop, right next to jean jackets and Virginia Tech baby onsies.

Buttermilk Pancakes

Serves: 4-5

  • 2 cups sifted all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt (heaping)
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups buttermilk
  • oil (for cooking) or butter 🙂 (for cooking)
  • butter and
  • maple syrup/fruit topping for serving

Directions:

  1. Mix all ingredients together until incorporated, but do not over mix.
  2. Heat a griddle or non stick pan under medium – medium high heat, and grease with a little butter or oil (more if you like a crispy edge).
  3. Drop batter using a 1/4 cup measuring cup onto hot pan. Once the bottom side is golden, flip and brown remaining side.
  4. Serve with butter and real maple syrup…enjoy.

Although making these at home won’t be the same as sitting down at a Cracker Barrel surrounded by farm house antiques while playing that silly golf tee-peg game at my table, I’ll still try give this recipe a whirl and hope it brings the same nostalgia.

Leave a Reply

