VEGGIE ENCHILADAS

In an ideal world, I’d have the time and funds to venture out on restaurant exploration every night.

In a perfect world, I’d also be able to have all the calories removed from my meals.

This is reality;  I limit my “going out-ness” to a few nights (even one night) out of the week.  I still have to budget just like anyone else but, I really don’t mind.   I will admit, I love preparing some awesome meals at home.  I love my kitchen (thank you to my handy girlfriend ); it’s my domain for my creative concocted dishes.

The other night, was one of my favorites, chicken enchiladas.  I’ll admit, this wasn’t something I made up myself, this was a recipe from my personal kitchen bible,  Real Simple: Best Recipes cookbook.  I love this thing, it’s smeared with buttery fingerprints and dog eared pages.

The recipe is easy and simple…how ironic.  The recipe is centered around rotisserie chicken.

Ah, rotisserie chicken, it has the potential to be the base for any easy and great meal.  It’s inexpensive and allows you to create and re-create dishes using this as a staple key ingredient.  Any leftover chicken?  Step up and create  quick chicken salad for lunch or snacking.  It’s effortless and  it’s pretty much guaranteed you have most of the ingredients already in your kitchen, of course, unless you’re in Kiera Knightly’s kitchen.  I kid I kid!

Here’s the recipe:  Chicken Enchiladas With Green Salsa | Real Simple Recipes.

It’s simple and you can absolutely make it your own.  Translation = you don’t have to follow the recipe word for word.  A trailblazer myself, I know I don’t!  Instead of the cilantro topping, I opt for green enchilada sauce, this balances the salty and sweet flavor of the dish.  I use more zucchini instead of onion AND I put extra cheese in the stuffing mixture and some on top…go figure.

Enjoy.  It won’t make cooking at home the same as going out but, at least you can do it in your pajamas and make it your way…and no, this is not Burger King.

2 thoughts on “VEGGIE ENCHILADAS

Leave a Reply

